Angola officially becomes OPCW member state

Angola officially becomes OPCW member state.
Angola officially becomes OPCW member state.
Angola officially became the 192nd member state of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) on Friday, the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) announced.

The country issued its instrument of accession on Sept. 16, and the CWC was officially entered into force on Friday.

"Angola's accession to the convention brings this important treaty a further step towards complete universality,” Ambassador Ahmet Üzümcü, director-general of the OPCW, said. “I hope this will encourage those countries which remain outside the convention to join the global consensus against chemical weapons.”

Currently four countries sit outside of the CWC: Egypt, Israel, North Korea and South Sudan.

Angola follows the recent accession of Myanmar earlier this year to the CWC.

The CWC is the international treaty that prohibits the use, stockpiling, development and other activity associated with chemical weapons and violent uses of toxic industrial chemicals. The OPCW serves as its primary enforcer. Through the CWC, the OPCW offers regional training in areas relating to implementation of the convention, preparedness activity against a chemical attack, medical response training and training courses in analytical chemistry.

The OPCW will also take part in fact-finding missions where reports of alleged violations of the convention occur. 

Organizations in this Story


Get notified the next time we write about ORGANISATION FOR THE PROHIBITION OF CHEMICAL WEAPONS!