Emergency Alert System to be tested in six states

Emergency Alert System to be tested in six states.
Emergency Alert System to be tested in six states.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced on Monday that a test of the Emergency Alert System (EAS) will be taking place Tuesday.

FEMA, alongside emergency managers and state broadcaster associations, will be conducting the test in New Mexico, Utah, Arizona, Nevada, Wisconsin and Minnesota; it will be taking place at 1:20 p.m. PT and will last for one minute.

This test will evaluate readiness of the Integrated Public Alert and Warning System (IPAWS) and its infrastructure. Alert messages will be transmitted to television, cable and radio operations. States that border those volunteering to take part in the test may experience the message sent during the evaluation period. In the announcement, Oregon, Idaho, California, Texas, Wyoming, Colorado, Oklahoma, North Dakota, South Dakota, Iowa, Illinois and Michigan were listed as possible locations for this to occur.

The EAS message signal will be distributed from the International Association of Emergency Managers (IAEM) meeting that will be taking place in Las Vegas.

FEMA states in the announcement that the modernization of the national public alert system began in 2007 through the integration and development of new technologies as they became available. The system is able to connect safety officials, allowing them to utilize mass communication channels.

Organizations in this Story

Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)

Get notified the next time we write about Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)!