Angola is latest nation to join the CWC

The Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) announced Monday that the government of Angola has submitted an instrument of accession to join the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC) on Oct. 16.

Angola will become the 192nd state party to the CWC, leaving only Egypt, Israel, North Korea and South Sudan as countries that have not signed and ratified it.

"Angola's accession, following so closely that of Myanmar, brings the convention ever closer to becoming a completely universal treaty," OPCW Director-General Ahmet Üzümcü said. "It comes at a time when the international community is actively working to strengthen this important global norm."

Myanmar became an official state party to the CWC in July.

The CWC prohibits the development, production, possession, stockpiling and use of chemical weapons. In order to become a state party to the CWC, member states must declare all stockpiles of chemical weapons and their related production or housing facilities, and must commit to their elimination. Among these requirements are historic and abandoned chemical weapons. State parties also submit to international monitoring and the OPCW verification regime. 

Organizations in this Story


Want to get notified whenever we write about ORGANISATION FOR THE PROHIBITION OF CHEMICAL WEAPONS ?
Next time we write about ORGANISATION FOR THE PROHIBITION OF CHEMICAL WEAPONS, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.