National Biodefense Science Board adds six new members

The National Biodefense Science Board (NBSB) will soon add six experts to provide advice and guidance to HHS' assistant secretary for preparedness and response and to the HHS secretary on preventing, preparing for and responding to adverse health effects of public health emergencies.

The six new members will will replace outgoing members whose terms expire on April 30.

The new members include Virginia Caine, David Ecker, Noreen Hynes, Catherine Slemp, Tammy Spain and David Weinstock.

The assistant secretary for preparedness is tasked with serving as the principal advisor to the secretary on bioterrorism and other public health emergencies and coordinating the federal public health and medical response to disasters.

"NBSB members are vital to our operations here in HHS," Assistant Secretary Nicole Lurie said. "They bring a wealth of knowledge, expertise, and experience. Over the past six years, the board has helped us improve federal policies and practices in disaster preparedness and response. I look forward to working with the new members in helping to build more resilient communities across the nation."

Created under the Pandemic and All-Hazards Preparedness Act of 2006 and chartered in May 2007, the NBSB provides recommendations on federal disaster preparedness and response issues. In the previous year, such recommendations included anticipated responsibilities of the Strategic National Stockpile in the year 2020 and cost-effective ways to meet those responsibilities.

Thirteen voting members sit on the NBSB board and hold a broad range of expertise in science, medicine and public health. Federal and state government agencies also provide voting and non-voting members as deemed appropriate by the HHS secretary.