Zerbo voted 2013 Arms Control Person of the Year

Executive Secretary of the Provisional Technical Secretariat of the Comprehensive Test-Ban Treaty Organization Dr. Lassina Zerbo was recently voted the 2013 Arms Control Person of the Year for his dedication to reducing arms threats globally.

The 2013 Arms Control Person of the Year was determined through an online poll. Ten people were nominated, including EU High Representative Catherine Ashton and Iranian Foreign Minister Mohammad Javad Zarif for working toward a peaceful nuclear program in Iran and Sigrid Kaag and her team for the elimination of chemical weapons in Syria.

Zerbo was voted the 2013 Arms Control Person of the Year for leading a number of projects, including persuading China to provide data to the International Data Centre in Vienna and providing immediate information concerning North Korea's third nuclear test explosion.

Since Zerbo accepted his position with the CTBTO, the organization's capabilities have steadily increased. Along with negotiating Chinese participation to the IDC, Zerbo also established a Group of Eminent Persons to the CTBTO to ensure the organization accomplishes the ratification of the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty.

"Dr. Zerbo and his team at the CTBTO have built up and successfully demonstrated the considerable capabilities of the International Monitoring System and the International Data Centre, and have established the technical basis for entry into force of the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty, which bans all nuclear test explosions and is an essential element to a comprehensive global nonproliferation and disarmament strategy," ACA Executive Director Daryl. G. Kimball said.