CTBTO Executive Secretary Zerbo calls for CTBT to enter into force

Executive Secretary of the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization Lassina Zerbo recently called upon the P5+1 and Iran to help move the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty into force.

The P5+1 and Iran held negotiations in Geneva, Switzerland, on Saturday and reached an agreement to work together. Zerbo said he hopes the renewed missions between the countries helps move the CTBT into force.

"I welcome the agreement reached between Iran and the P5+1," Zerbo said. "I hope that this development will create new momentum towards the entry into force of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty. I invite all States that have yet to do so to sign and ratify the CTBT."

Zerbo said the CTBT is a platform for confidence-building within the international community.

"The treaty offers a powerful confidence-building measure to underline a State's commitment not to develop and test nuclear weapons," Zerbo said. "In particular, I encourage the three States in the Middle Eastern region whose ratification is a precondition for the CTBT's entry into force to show leadership."

In order for the CTBT to enter into force, it must be signed and ratified by the countries which engaged in the initial CTBT negotiations in the 1990s; these 44 states were the only states to possess nuclear power or research reactors in the 1990s.

To date, 183 States have signed the CTBT and 161 have ratified it. The treaty cannot, however, enter into force without being signed and ratified in the following eight countries: China, the Democratic People's Republic of Korea, India, Iran, Israel, Pakistan, Egypt and the United States.