Somalia ratifies Chemical Weapons Convention

Somalia ratified the Chemical Weapons Convention on Wednesday.

The CWC is an arms control agreement that outlaws the production, stockpiling and use of chemical weapons. The CWC agreement is administered by the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons, an independent organization located in The Hague, Netherlands.

Somalia is a country located on the eastern shore of Africa. It is bordered by Ethiopia on the west and Djibouti on the northwest. Somalia has a population of around 10 million, with 85 percent of the population being made up of ethnic Somalis.

Somalia, because of its location on the Horn of Africa, is known as a seafaring country. It gained this reputation in the ancient world where it was an important hub for trading, and is even speculated to be the location of the fabled Land of Punt.

The chemical weapons in Somalia are due in part to the large army it acquired prior to the outbreak of its civil war in 1991.

The ratification of the treaty is another step towards completing the CWC's goals. The CWC's laws will be in force for Somalia starting on June 28, 2013. Somalia joins Angola as a recent country to adopt the CWC.