U.S. Treasury Department announces new sanctions against Iran

The U.S. Treasury Department announced new sanctions on Thursday against 20 individuals and entities for their alleged involvement in Iran's nuclear and missile proliferation or attempts to evade previous sanctions.

Fourteen of the entities and individuals were designated pursuant to an executive order to target the proliferators of weapons of mass destruction and their supporters. The entities and individuals allegedly supported previously designated entities within Iran's proliferation network in addition to Iran's Ministry of Defense for Armed Forces Logistics, Naftiran Intertrade Company and Iran's Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps.

The other six designations are related to Iran's attempts to evade international sanctions. The six individuals work for the National Iranian Oil Company, Naftiran Intertrade Company and previously identified Iranian front companies.

"As long as Iran continues to pursue a nuclear and ballistic missile program in defiance of multiple U.N. Security Council resolutions, the U.S. will target and disrupt those involved in Iran's illicit activities," David Cohen, the department's under secretary for terrorism and financial intelligence, said. "We will continue to work with our international partners to intensify this pressure and tighten sanctions on Iran's energy sector as it provides much needed financial support for the Iranian regime's proliferation activity."

In 2008, the Treasury Department identified NIOC and NICO as entities owned or controlled by the government of Iran.

U.S. individuals are generally prohibited from engaging in any transactions with the individuals and entities listed in the executive orders and any assets of the designated individuals subject to U.S. jurisdiction are frozen.