National Biodefense Science Board names seven new members

Seven experts from outside the U.S. government have been chosen to replace departing members of the National Biodefense Science Board.

The new members are set to replace those whose four year terms expire on January 31. The board is a federal committee that provides guidance on preventing and preparing for public health emergencies to the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and the HHS Assistant Secretary for Preparedness and Response.

The ASPR serves as the principal advisor to the secretary on issues related to bioterrorism. It also coordinates the federal public health and medical response to disasters.

"NBSB members bring a broad range of perspectives and experiences, and over the past four years, the board has helped us improve federal policies and practices in disaster preparedness and response," Assistant Secretary Nicole Lurie said. "I look forward to working with the new members as we forge ahead in helping communities across the country become more resilient to all hazards."

The board was created as part of the Pandemic and All-Hazards Preparedness Act of 2006. Since its official chartering in May 2007, the board has provided guidance on the development of the National Disaster Medical System and federal programs designed to aid the research and production of medical countermeasures against bioterror agents.

The committee is composed of a total of 13 members with a broad range of expertise in science, medicine and public health. There are also several non-voting members from various federal and state agencies.

The next board meeting is scheduled to take place on February 2.